Photo by Alex Murillo

Photo by Alex Murillo

Transborder Media is a transmedia storytelling collective focused on empowering communities and effecting positive change.

We launched in 2013 when we started working on our documentary film, Soldiers Without a Nation. Our short film of the same name was awarded second place at the Gender and Justice competition held by the Supreme Court of Mexico, United Nations Women, United Nations Human Rights of Mexico and several other organizations in November 2014. Together we have been photographing and documenting the U.S.-Mexico border for the past three years. 

Griselda San Martin is a documentary photographer and visual journalist based in New York City and Tijuana, Mexico. She is a 2015 graduate of the Photojournalism and Documentary photography program at the International Center of Photography in New York. She studied Business Administration at Esade Business School in Barcelona and graduated with an M.A. in Journalism from the University of Colorado Boulder in 2013. Her documentary work explores transborder and transnational issues and focuses on concepts of identity and belonging in diasporic communities and ethnic minorities. She has received several scholarships to develop her projects, including the Beverly Sears scholarship in Boulder, Colorado and the George and Joyce Moss Scholarship in New York.

Elaine Cromie is a visual journalist and documentary photographer based in Denver, Colorado and Tijuana, Mexico. She most recently worked as an assistant to Steve McCurry in New York City. Previously she worked in Detroit as a photographer for the MLive Media Group. She was part of the 2013 New York Times Student Journalism Institute. Her work focuses on social issues affecting communities and identities.

Bianca Fortis is an independent journalist and social media consultant based in New York City and Tijuana, Mexico. Her work has been published in newspapers throughout the country. She was a recipient of the 2011 Scripps Howard Foundation’s Semester in Washington Fellowship and won the 2013 I.F. Stone Award for Emerging Journalists through the Nation Institute. She is a 2010 graduate of the University of Central Florida Nicholson School of Communications.